Front page of Google

20 August, 2008 at 5:00 pm | Posted in website | Leave a comment

About 3 years ago I rebuilt our website from scratch (using FrontPage, which I know isn’t recommended – but I didn’t know anything about HTML). I spent months reading up on SEO and tried to follow all the recommendations, including making the <title> and <meta> tags keyword-rich.

I then set up several AdWords campaigns which started driving visitors to the site – not a huge number, but enough to get a reasonable proportion of them signing up on our “squeeze page”.

I haven’t done a great deal more to the site apart from occasional updates and additional pages. Then last week I just thought I’d try doing a search on a few of our keywords. To my complete amazement we appear on the first page of Google (UK search) for:

  • critical path analysis software
  • critical path software
  • critical path analysis tool
  • resource management software
  • resource utilisation
  • time collection software

These are not the most commonly searched terms, apart from resource management software which averages 1,000 searches a month, but I’m still very pleased with these results.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

